1923: An article in an issue of the Forest Service Newsletter of December 1949 states the lookout was built in 1923, accompanied by a photo of the D-6 lookout building dated July 10, 1949.
November 27, 1925: "The British Columbia forest service is planning to extend its series of fire outlook stations so that eventually every important timber area in the province will have ab observatory. Five lookout stations are already established and the department is now planning a station for Mount Benson which will serve a wide area near Nanaimo and another for Phoenix Mountain near Cranbrook." (Creston Review)
1925: "A programme of lookout construction, which provided for the erection of three standard lookouts with necessary telephone communications and fire-finding equipment, was undertaken. Primary units equipped with modern fire-finding equipment were constructed during the year on Mount Benson, near Nanaimo," (Report of the Forest Branch, Department of Lands)
1925: Listed under improvements in the Vancouver District: Mount Benson Lookout, $2,029.00. (Report of the Forest Branch, Department of Lands)
December 5, 1949: "Mount Benson Lookout near Nanaimo was destroyed by fire by persons unknown." (Forest Service Newsletter)
October 23, 1970: "LOOKOUT TRANSFERRED Nanaimo service club Serauxmen take over Mount Benson Lookout as Bill McGuire, past president, signs papers. McGuire said club will try close supervision to curb vandalism, problem at remote viewpoint overlooking Strait of Georgia. Club also plans to build signs to make lookout easier to find. Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce has been responsible for site." (The Daily Colonist)
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.