1936: "A new Cupola Cabin Lookout Station was erected on Cameron Mountain in Victoria County in co-operation with the New Brunswick Railway Company, Fraser Companies Limited and O.B. Davis and Company. This Lookout Station was connected by a grounded circuit telephone line with the No. 9 circuit of the Plaster Rock Exchange. It will co-operate with Quisbis Mountain, St. Quentin, Mount Carleton, Tobique, Plaster Rock and Martin's Bluff Towers in the location of fires in Victoria and Madawaska Counties. In order to connect this lookout Station with the New Brunswick Telephone Company's system, it was necessary to erect five miles of pole and tree line, connection being made with the Telephone Company's line by means of a repeater coil." (Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines of the Province of New Brunswick)
1954: "Some improvement to the road leading to Cameron Mountain Lookout Station in ranger district 5-4 was made. Construction of this road will be completed in 1955." (118th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
1955: "A right-of-way was purchased for a road to Cameron Mountain Lookout Station ranger district 5-4. With completion of this road easy access may now be had to the summit of Cameron Mountain." (119th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.