1949: "The field staff built a wooden lookout tower in the Lockstead area during the summer. This is considered a secondary tower, 70' in height to the floor of the cabin, the four corner posts being single spruce poles tapering to 6" at the top. Plans are being made to give this wooden tower a coat of preservative paint with the expectation that it will serve this area for at least fifteen years," (113th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
1950: "A metallic circuit telephone line, on poles, was built from the Lockstead Tower, a distance of 2 miles, to the Lockstead Road where it joins the Plaster Rock-Renous Line leading to the Blackville Exchange. This work was done during the early summer by warden labour. A little later in the summer, living quarters were built at this lookout station for the use of the observer who will man this tower during hazardous periods, covering an area not directly visible from other towers." (114th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
1961: "Lockstead secondary tower ceased to be used and the living quarters were transferred to Otter Brook." (125th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines, year ending 3/31/1962)
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.