1922: "The Lord and Foy Tower which is situated about twelve miles south of Bathurst proved a very valuable aid in detecting fires in the Bathurst district." (Annual Report of the Crown Land Department of the Province of New Brunswick)
1939: "The old wooden 80 ft. Lord and Foy Lookout Tower was replaced under this project with a modern 110 ft. galvanized steel tower with glass enclosed octagonal shaped observer's cabin on top. In addition an Observer's living quarters 12 ft x 20 ft. with 7 ft. posts was built nearby. In addition 1 1/2 miles of portage road was widened, graveled and improved for motor traffic between Allardville and the Lookout Station. All brush from skirting this road was burned. The project opened on October 1st and closed November 9th. The work was somewhat delayed on account of rain." (National Forestry Programme) (103rd Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
1945: "The Lord and Foy Telephone Line, Gloucester County, was rebuilt from Allardville to Lord & Foy Lookout Station a distance of 1 1/2 miles, a metallic circuit on poles replacing the former grounded circuit on trees in order to give better service to the Lookout Station. This work was done by warden labour during the summer." (109th Annual Report of the Department of Lands and Mines)
1958: "The Lord and Foy 110' Ajax galvanized steel fire lookout tower in Gloucester County was completely wrecked by a heavy wind and sleet storm early in 1958 and was replaced with a new steel fire tower on the same site." (122nd Annual Report of the Department of the Department of Lands and Mines, year ending 3/31/1959)
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.